Maksimov A. P., Gaevsky I. A., Kovalev M. S., Khromov A. F., Grigoryev A. I.

Expedition survey of the turkish part of the natural disjunctive area of the Phoenix theophrasti Greuter on the Datça Peninsula

Abstract:

The results of the expedition survey of the southern coast of the Datça peninsula (south-western part of Turkey from Marmaris to Datça) with the purpose of studying a part of the natural disjunctive area of the Phoenix theophrasti Greuter, have been presented. This species is endemic, it is distributed on the island of Crete, several small adjoining islands and on the south-west coast of Turkey. The species is listed in the IUCN Red Data Book. During the survey, samples of leaves were collected, natural conditions were described and numerous photos of the Phoenix theophrasti were made. The climatic characteristics of the Turkish part of the natural disjunctive area of Phoenix theophrasti and the regions of introduction are represented by climatic diagrams constructed according to the method of H. Walter and H. Lieth with additions. The seedlings were grown from the received seeds of the palm center (Palmiye Merkez-Park 48800 Toparlar / Köyceğiz / MuğlaTürkei), which will be subsequently tested on the Southern coast of the Crimea (SCC) and Caucasian Riviera (CR). This species is considered the most frost-resistant date in the world, and the results of further introduction testing will demonstrate its viability under new introduction conditions. It is established that the Phoenix theophrasti prefers to grow in coastal areas or on steep calcareous rocks, along moist valleys, streams and rocky ravines on the products of their weathering. Its appearance in plant communities invariably points to a water source. It has sustainability to salt. The Phoenix theophrasti unlike other species of this genus, grows in the conditions of its native land in the most northern and cold climatic zone. It is used as an ornamental plant in green construction throughout the Mediterranean, but not as widely as the Phoenix dactylifera L. and Phoenix canariensis Chab. Further study of biological and environmental peculiarities under natural conditions and introduction conditions on the SCC and CR will allow to evaluate its adaptive capabilities and to determine viability for amenity planting in the new adaptation areas.

About the autors:

Alexander Pavlovich Maksimov (1), Candidate of Biological Sciences, Senior Researcher of the Laboratory of Forest Science; Igor Anatolievich Gaevsky (2), individual entrepreneur; Maxim Sergeevich Kovalev (3), Junior Researcher of the phytomonitoring laboratory; Alexander Fedorovich Khromov (4), Candidate of Agricultural Sciences, Senior Researcher of the Laboratory of Forest Science; Alexey Igorevich Grigoryev (5), leading engineer

Place of employment:

Federal State Budgetary Institution of Science «Order of the Red Banner of Labor Nikitsky Botanical Garden – National Scientific Center of the Russian Academy of Sciences» (1,3,4,5); IP Gaevsky I. Sevastopol (2); Palm Center «Sabal» (3)

Contacts:

e-mail: cubric@mail.ru (1,3,4,5); e-mail: gaevskij67@mail.ru (2)

Key words:

Phoenix theophrasti; expedition survey; Turkey; disjunctive area; seeds; seedlings; frost resistance; prospects

Максимов А. П., Гаевский И. А., Ковалев М. С., Хромов А. Ф., Григорьев А. И.

Экспедиционное обследование турецкой части естественного дизъюнктивного ареала финика Теофраста (Phoenix theophrasti Greuter) на полуострове Датча

Аннотация научной статьи:

Представлены результаты экспедиционного обследования южного побережья полуострова Датча (юго-западная часть Турции от г. Мармариса до г. Датча) на предмет изучения части естественного дизъюнктивного ареала финика Теофраста (Phoenix theophrasti Greuter). Этот вид является эндемиком, он распространен на острове Крит, нескольких небольших прилегающих островах и на юго-западном побережье Турции. Занесен в Красную книгу МСОП. При обследовании собраны образцы листьев, описаны естественные условия произрастания и сделаны многочисленные фотографии финика Теофраста. Климатические характеристики турецкой части естественного дизъюнктивного ареала финика Теофраста и районов интродукции представлены климадиаграммами, построенными по методике H. Walter und H. Lieth с дополнениями. Из полученных в пальмовом центре (Palmiye Merkez–Park 48800 Toparlar/Köyceğiz/MuğlaTürkei) семян выращены сеянцы, которые в дальнейшем будут испытаны на Южном берегу Крыма (ЮБК) и Черно-морском побережье Кавказа (ЧПК). Этот вид считается самым морозоустойчивым фиником в мире, а результаты дальнейшего интродукционного испытания покажут его перспективность в новых условиях интродукции. Установлено, что финиковая пальма Теофраста предпочитает расти в прибрежных районах и на крутых известковых скалах, вдоль влажных долин, ручьев и скалистых оврагов на продуктах их выветривания. Присутствие его в растительных сообществах неизменно указывает на водный источник. Солеустойчив. Финик Теофраста, в отличие от других видов этого рода, растет в условиях своей родины в самой северной и холодной климатической зоне. Как декоративное растение он используется в зеленом строительстве во всем Средиземноморье, но не так широко, как финики пальчатый (Phoenix dactylifera L.) и канарский (Phoenix canariensis Chab.). Дальнейшее изучение биологических и экологических особенностей в природных условиях и условиях интродукции на ЮБК и ЧПК поможет оценить его адаптивные возможности и определить перспективность для озеленения в новых районах интродукции.

Ключевые слова:

Phoenix theophrasti; экспедиционное обследование; Турция; дизъюнктивный ареал; семена; сеянцы; саженцы; морозостойкость; перспективность; районы интродукции; Южный берег Крыма; Черноморское побережье Кавказа

Об авторе:

Александр Павлович Максимов (1), кандидат биологических наук, старший научный сотрудник лаборатории лесоведения; Игорь Анатольевич Гаевский (2), индивидуальный предприниматель; Максим Сергеевич Ковалев (3), младший научный сотрудник лаборатории фитомониторинга; Александр Федорович Хромов (4), кандидат сельскохозяйственных наук, старший научный сотрудник лаборатории лесоведения; Алексей Игоревич Григорьев (5), ведущий инженер

Место работы:

ФГБУН «Ордена Трудового Красного Знамени Никитский ботанический сад – Национальный научный центр РАН» (1,3,4,5); ИП Гаевский И.А. Севастополь (2); Пальмовый центр «Сабаль» (3)

Контактная информация:

e-mail: cubric@mail.ru (1,3,4,5); e-mail: gaevskij67@mail.ru (2)