Yakubova L.A. , Badalov M.F.

INTERNAL MIGRATION WITHIN THE EUROPEAN UNION AND ITS CONSEQUENCES IN 2000–2014

Abstract:

The article examines main aspects of internal migration in the EU countries in 2000–2014. The free movement of workers and free internal migration is one of the fundamentals of the European integration and the EU functioning as a state entity. The article identifies main population groups who actively participate in the internal migration flows. The first group includes the economically active working population, moving around the EU in search of better-paid jobs, often at the expense of their qualifications. The second group of internal migrants is represented by students and the youth, moving in order to participate in academic exchange programs, student mobility, etc. The author analyses the causes and factors that catalysed internal movement of different social groups in member states of the EU. Some of the most significant geopolitical factors in this case are the EU territorial expansion in 2004, 2007 and 2013, as well as such personal reasons as marriage, family reunion, moving to live with relatives. Special attention is paid to the regulatory framework governing the European free movement regime. The article considers both positive and negative consequences of the free internal migration within EU. It also presents the debates of European leaders in the defined chronological period regarding the problems of free move-ment and the possibilities of its limitation

About the autors:

Lala Alievna Yakubova (1), Candidate of Historical Sciences, Associate Professor, Head of the Department of Documentation Studies and General History; Mehmedali Fazil ogli Badalov (2), post-graduate student of the Department of Documentation Studies and General History

Place of employment:

Nizhnevartovsk State University

Contacts:

е-mail: lalayakubova@gmail.com (1, 2)

Key words:

social politics; migration policy; migrants; migration legislation; internal migration; European Union; European Economic Community; “freedom of movement for workers”; “social tourism”; social security; social insurance

Якубова Л.А., Бадалов М.Ф.

ВНУТРЕННЯЯ МИГРАЦИЯ В ЕВРОПЕЙСКОМ СОЮЗЕ И ЕЕ ПОСЛЕДСТВИЯ В 2000–2014 гг.

Аннотация научной статьи:

В статье исследованы основные аспекты внутренней миграции в странах Европейского Союза в 2000–2014 гг. Свободное передвижение трудящихся и свободная внутренняя миграция – один из основополагающих принципов европейской интеграции и деятельности Европейского Союза как государственного образования. В статье определены основные группы населения, активно участвующие во внутренних миграционных потоках – экономически активное трудоспособное население, осуществляющее передвижения внутри ЕС с целью поиска более высокооплачиваемой работы, зачастую в ущерб имеющейся квалификации, и студенты и молодежь, передвигающиеся по причинам участия в программах академического обмена, студенческой мобильности и т.д. Автор анализирует причины и факторы, явившиеся катализатором внутренних передвижений для граждан различных социальных групп в разных государствах – членах Европейского Союза. Одними из наиболее весомых геополитических факторов в данном случае выступают территориальные расширения Европейского Союза в 2004, 2007 и 2013 гг.; личные причины: вступление в брак, воссоединение семьи, переезд к родственникам. Отдельное внимание уделено нормативной базе, регулирующей режим свободы передвижения граждан внутри Европейского Союза. В статье рассмотрены как положительные, так и отрицательные последствия свободной внутренней ми-грации в ЕС. Представлена дискуссия европейских лидеров в обозначенный хронологический период относительно проблем свободного перемещения и возможностей его ограничения

Ключевые слова:

социальная политика; миграционная политика; мигранты; миграционное законодательство; внутренняя миграция; Европейский Союз; Европейское экономическое сообщество; «свобода передвижения трудящихся»; «социальный туризм»; социальное обеспечение; социальное страхование

Об авторе:

Лала Алиевна Якубова (1), кандидат исторических наук, доцент, заведующий кафедрой документоведения и всеобщей истории; Мехмедалы Фазиль оглы Бадалов (2), аспирант кафедры документоведения и всеобщей истории

Место работы:

Нижневартовский государственный университет

Контактная информация:

е-mail: lalayakubova@gmail.com (1, 2)